This morning I found a dead mouse in my fire grate.

I’m not proud of it, to be honest. I’m not sure whether to be more alarmed about the fact that I’ve discovered a mouse in my fire grate or whether it’s dead.

What’s worse is that it’s still there. I thought I’d get my son to school and then head back home to dispose of it and then do my tax self-assessment – what a morning I’ve got to look forward to! – but somehow I’ve managed to find my way here, to my local cafe, to put off the inevitable.

They say you need to get them hooked with a good pre-credits event. An unexpected happening, a death.

EastEnders famously kicked off with the death of Reg Cox, although I think he died sitting in an armchair and not with his tiny head rammed into a fire grate.

And the death, and life, of that ill-fated creature – let’s call him Reg – was certainly unexpected. To me, at least. I don’t know if you people know anything about it.

But it seemed like an omen, an odd  sign that I should get this blog up and running after much contemplation.

So what you will get from now on are regular updates on my attempts to kick off a writing career.

It’s going to be a busy year for me. I’m doing an MA in Screenwriting and working on  number of specs. It’s the year when I really have to work out how I want to move forward, to get my work into the public domain, if not this year then the next, or the one after that. The journey will no doubt be haphazard and fumbling, and full of uncertainty and heartache. But it’s something I’ve got to do.

Because if I don’t, I’ll always wonder.

They, those people, say you need a portal, somewhere to present yourself to the world – I’m an avid reader of writing blogs, an increasing number of which you’ll find down the side – and so this is where you’ll find mine. With a bit of luck, and a lot of gumption, I’ll update regularly.

I can more or less promise that dead mice, deceased mammals in general, will no longer feature in this blog, which I have pretentiously called The Lower Frequencies for no very good reason other than I like the phrase.

I hope you’ll pop back here every now and then to find out how I’m getting on. And advice. I need advice and encouragement. As much as you can give me.

But for now, my coffee dregs are cold. I have to buy myself some rubber gloves and remove poor Reg from the fireplace.

Wish me luck.

