To be honest, I should have done it years ago. But I didn’t.

Sure, I have twinges of regret about not giving the writing a go much earlier, but life plays out in unexpected ways, and there’s no point in crying over spilt milk.

When you’re young, you’re swept from the dock and carried downstream until, years later, you wash up on a strange shore clutching a family and a mortgage. 

I’ve always been lucky enough to earn my living in a creative industry, I’ve always earned my living writing in one way or another, so that helped keep my cravings at bay.

And I wonder, I cling to the idea that, I really wouldn’t have had the ability to write as a young man, anyway. I’m not sure I had enough empathy for other people when I was younger. And I once asked a successful writer why he never started writing until he was over forty. He told me, it was only after 40-years-of-age that he could sit in a room on his own for any length of time. 

I’m not a young chap, but I’m not that old either – is 42 old? No, don’t answer that –  and now, by a combination of luck and design, I find myself in a situation where I am able to finally do it. My intention is that by the time I come out of the other side of this adventure, my old CV will be so hopelessly out-of-date, and I’ll be virtually unemployable as anything else other than a writer.

I write virtually every day, even if it’s only a little, but it’s slow going for me at the moment as I discover what I’m good at, not so good at; as I fumble with style and theme; and I’m still finding the best way for me to work.

Organisation, I confess, has never been my strongest suit and I find myself drowning in endless questions. I read other people’s blogs, and they write knowingly about structure and beats and outlines and all those things that I should know more about. This blog will, I hope, over time, provide me with a useful portal on how other people approach writing their own scripts.

There are whole aspects of the profession that I naively didn’t even contemplate – networking, getting your work out there, and suchlike.

So with my MA due to start in a few months time, it’ll be good to have a place to swap ideas, information, encouragement and a place to let off steam.

And I also hope it’ll help me make contact with other like-minded people out there, people who’ve taken the plunge to write full-time, or who scribble or type long into the night, or before the family get up, scribbling. 

So let’s get on with it.

*Aaaannnd relax.*

