Perhaps, like me, you like to look at the Writers’ Rooms in the Guardian Review section of a Saturday.

It’s a simple and fascinating weekly feature. A Guardian photographer trots over to North London or wherever and takes a picture of a writer’s den. 

I don’t have a room of my own, I’ll have to sit at a desk in a dark corner of a living room, or at the dining table, surrounded by cereal bowls, which is why the cafe up the road does good business out of me during the week, so I look longingly at all these office spaces and imagine myself, all on my tod, staring out the window at the leafiness or making a mess.

The writer featured in that week’s Writers’ Rooms, unless it’s Rudyard Kipling, will also provide a quick splurge about the room and its knick-knacks, usually remarking that they work in there from 10am to 6pm. 

And I think: doing what? Do they write the same novel all day? Because, I don’t know about you, but 10 till 6 seems a long time. 

I do the school run, so my working day is roughly 9-30am to 3-30pm. That’s about six hours. If I go to the gym we’re probably talking nearer five. I like to think that I do a fair bit of work in that time – although I’m probably not working hugely efficiently; that’s a subject for another post. 

But I don’t think I’d have the focus to slog away on the same thing from 10am till 6pm. That’s eight hours; well seven, if you stop for lunch. Someone, Robert Harris I think, said he doesn’t write more than 2,000 words of a novel a day or he’ll lose focus.

I, personally, can’t write more than 10-pages of script at any one time without going cross-eyed. When I’m attempting a novel, I can do about 2,500 words. Then I have to move onto something else and fiddle with that.

But is it possible to write for seven, eight hours, straight? On the same project?

How much do you write?  How much can you write?

I’m interested.

